top of page

Kaituna CC History

The Kaituna Cricket Club formed in 1933. A photograph of that first team with an unknown shield trophy is shown below. The original home ground was formed outside Robert Newton’s homestead half a kilometre up the Kaituna Valley Road on Len Coop’s property. A concrete pitch was laid overlain with coconut mat. It was used up until the 2nd world war intervened in 1940 and suspended the club activities until 1947. The team did not play in a competition at that time and arranged games against local sides and teams from Christchurch The original 1933 team:




Back Row: Jack Newton, Gilbert Manson, Colin Manson, Seddon Turner, Harry Vercoe, Oakley Turner

Front Row: Clarie Amos, Jack Vercoe, Walter Newton, Claude Le Compte, Rowley Newton.



The team re-commenced playing cricket again around 1947 at Jimmy Coop’s Waitangi property just off SH 75 to Akaroa and about 2km north of the Kaituna Valley turn off. Members of that team era included Patrick Bailey, George Burrows Gordon Burrows, Ralph Burrows, Jim Chapman, Harry Conway, Jimmy Coop, Peter De Pass Alistair Gray, Ivor Gray, Delwin Mason, Roger Mason, Doug McQueen, Alan Middleton, Alan Nutt, Arthur Smith, Arthur Smith, George Turrell, Edward Turrell, Eric Thompson, Doug Wheeler,


Although the BPCSA was formed in 1929, Kaituna did not enter a team in that competition until 1950. The club relocated to the current Kaituna Domain in 1955. A new pavilion, concrete wicket and turf outfield was formed at that time. The club went on to be very successful winning the Banks Peninsula competitions as follows:


Kinloch Cup: 1955-56, 1956-57, 1958-59, 1961-62, 1962-63, 1966-67, 1969-70, 1978-79, 1984-85,


Lavericks Cup: 1950-51, 1951-52, 1952-53, 1955-56,1958-59, 1959-60, 1961-62, 1962-63,1966-67, 1969-70, 1076-77, 1978-70, 1980-81.



Representative Honours


The club produced a number of representative players with two playing first class cricket and representing Canterbury and New Zealand.


The most notable and recent was Henry Nichols (Need to get some info off Rick to complete this)


Robert Newton, the first Banks Peninsula player to play first class cricket at provincial level and represent New Zealand when he was selected at the age of 21 to play for New Zealand under 23 against Pakistan in Rotorua. An outstanding wicket keeper batsman he went on to play 15 first class matches representing Canterbury in 1974 and Wellington 1975 in the Plunket Shield series and played against the touring MCC, and Australia teams and against New Zealand. He played 21 matches for Canterbury Country, and represented Canterbury at under 23 and under 19 years NZ age group tournaments.


Norman Alan was the first Banks Peninsula player to play for Canterbury Country. He played 6 matches, scoring 125 runs and taking 1 wicket. He was tragically killed in a tractor accident at a young age. The Banks Peninsula Norm Alan trophy was played for in his honour


Wayne Newton represented Canterbury Country in 65 games including 3 Hawke Cup challenges scoring 857 runs taking 119 wickets. Best bowling performance 6 /14 verses Buller and 5/61 verses a Canterbury IX.


Hamish Pavey represented Canterbury Country in 6 matches including one Hawke Cup challenge scoring 39 runs and taking 15 wickets.


The following club players represented Banks Peninsula: Norm Alan, Ross Alan, Walter Newton, Wayne Newton, Robert Newton, Kevin Watson, Brian Neal, Kim Neal, Mark Neal, Ben Prain and Hamish Pavey, Dave Turner, Ted Turner,

Kaituna Cricket Team 1933-page-001.jpg
Kaituna Cricket Team 1955-56 - 62-63-pag
bottom of page